Dear Ladies and Gentlemen,

It is my honor to announce the 2nd edition of Antarctic Short, Documentary and Animation Film Festival.

The festival will be held at the Finnish Antarctic research station ABOA in Queen Maud Land Antarctica (location 73°03′S, 13°25′W) between 24th of December 2010 and 31st of January 2011. This summer (winter) our goal is to to push the Festival to the next level: to spread screenings to other research stations around Antarctica!

This year our festival team is glad to announce a program that includes 29 films from 11 countries from 5 continents. The festival films are handpicked from the line-ups of major film festivals around the world including Berlin, Venice, Pusan, Sundance, Karlovy Vary…

The festival’s special programs include the retrospective of the highly appreciated documentary film maker JAY ROSENBLATT (USA) and the Japanese feature film THE CHEF OF SOUTH POLAR by Shuichi OKITA (shown only in the Finnish research station).

Festival is arranged in co-operation with FINNISH METEOROLOGICAL INSTITUTE. News, details of the research and contacts of FINNARP 2010 -research team are available on the web site www.antarctica.fi/in-english

I hope you enjoy our program.

On behalf of the all festival team,

Simojukka Ruippo


We would like to thank following organizations, filmmakers and especially all voluntary workers who has made this Festival possible:

  • AALTO UNIVERSITY. School of Art and Design: Saara Toivanen
  • Bokomotiv Filmproduktion AB: Freddy Olsson
  • Botnia Film: Thom Palmen
  • Elisabeth Marschan
  • Finnish Meteorological Institute: Mika Kalakoski
  • Helsinki International Film Festival: Pekka Lanerva, Sonja Löfström
  • Indiestory: Rose Chang
  • Jay Rosenblatt
  • KurzFilmAgentur Hamburg: Axel Behrens
  • Media Box Corporation: Masako Kudo
  • Pusan International Film Festival: Kim Dong-ho, Jay Jeon, Lee Yong-kwan
  • Quark Film: Ed
  • Sampo Marjomaa
  • Satyajit Ray Film & Television Institute: Nilotpal Majumdar
  • Stúdió Baestarts Ltd.: Judit Jugonics
  • Tampere International Short Film Festival: Jukka-Pekka Laakso, Jussi Alanen
  • Tuula Kumpunen